LSO presents Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 4


19 May, 7.30pm 

Barbican Hall, Silk St, London EC2Y 8DS 


LUTOSLAWSKI Concerto for Orchestra



Sir Antonio Pappano conductor

London Symphony Orchestra


Polish folk music is at the heart of Lutoslawski’s Concerto for Orchestra, transformed by the composer and absorbed into his own experimental style. Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No 4 is tied inextricably to a personal breakdown, prompted by a hasty, ill-advised marriage. The opening fanfare announces the oppressive theme of fate, the ‘seed of the whole symphony’ and a force that Tchaikovsky felt ruled his life.


Book tickets at  or call the box office on 020 7638 8891. 


To get a special 20% discount quote 'Tchaikovsky Offer' or use the online booking code 190553. 

Send to:
host ok