Rossica Prize 2012 brochure

                                          PDF Download






Winner – John Elsworth


We are delighted to announce that Professor John Elsworth has won the Rossica Translation Prize 2012 for his translation of Petersburg by Andrei Bely. 


The announcement was made to a packed audience of publishers, translators, writers, press and prominent cultural figures at the Russian Bookshop in Waterstones Piccadilly. HE Alexander Yakovenko, Ambassador of the Russian Federation, speaking before the official announcement, described translators of Russian literature as "the true ambassadors" of Russian culture abroad. The 5000 Rossica Translation Prize, shared between the translator and publisher, was presented by Pamela Davidson, Professor of Russian Literature at the School of Slavonic and East European Studies at UCL.


Faced with the difficult task of selecting a final winner from a shortlist of such outstanding quality, the judges agreed unanimously on John Elsworth’s translation. In particular they praised Elsworth's success “in capturing its idiosyncratic rhythms and elusive layers of meaning, producing a masterful translation that reads like a work of art in its own right.”


The judges also awarded a Special Commendation to Hugh and Galya Aplin, in recognition of the quality and variety of their numerous translations.




Winner – Gregory Afinogenov


Gregory Afinogenov of Harvard University has won the Rossica Young Translators Award for his translation of an extract of S.N.U.F.F by Victor Pelevin. The judges were unanimous in choosing him as a worthy winner. His translation of Pelevin's difficult prose impressed them with its erudition, accuracy and inventiveness.


This is truly an unexpected honor, and judging by the other translations quoted in the judges' statements, the competition must have been truly fierce. Above all, I am grateful for the chance to translate a bit of Pelevin, since he is far and away my favorite living Russian writer.


Congratulations to our winners and we would like to thank all those who attended for making the award ceremony such a special and memorable event! 


For more information on the winners, as well as those shortlisted, please see the event brochure

Send to:
host ok